Only Time I’m Ever Posting a Trip-Hop Track


Audio Sports – Return to 1 More (from Era of Glittering Gas 1992)

Getting into Boredoms back in high school was when music got really fun for me. Me and Yamatsuka Eye go back like car seats, and this Audio Sports record is kind of a hidden gem. Maybe not in Japan in the early 90s, but I’m impressed by how good it still sounds 20 years later. I mean it’s Trip-Hop for Christ’s sake, and not in the same way that say Fabo is Trip-Hop. Heavy on the weed, I imagine Eye’s dreadlocks wrapped up in a studio kinda cloudy listening to Buju Banton and Main Source. I dig the rapping throughout the album, but their re-version of this riddim (whose name slips my mind right now) is my favorite moment.

This entry was posted in Japan, Rap, Reggae. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

