Sox Park Mob 5 (1995)

DOWNLOAD

I had to re-post this important part of mixtape history courtesy of Noz, especially since it is creation of one of the most important producers to ever come out of Chicago. DJ Deeon started making tapes back in 1986 that would highlight a lot of local artists before anybody else was. The name of the series came from the existence of the long string of high rise housing projects along the Dan Ryan expressway starting from Cermak and ending in the 100 streets that all shared a view of Comiskey Park. From the man himself:

THE ORIGINAL MIXTAPE! BEFORE THERE WAS DJ CLUE,BEFORE THERE WAS GANGSTA GRILLZ,THERE WAS ONLY ONE MIXTAPE SPECIALIZING IN GANGSTA MUZIK! SOX PARK MOB!!! FRUM DA LOW END OF CHICAGO,I BEGAN MIXING MIXTAPE 4 THA GUYS,WHILE THEY WERE SLINGIN DRUGS I WAS SLINGIN MIXTAPES.I BEEN DOIN IT SINCE 1986.I SLUNG MIXTAPE 2 NIGGAZ FRUM ALL OVER THE CITY,CUZ THE TRAYBALL 37TH & FEDERAL HAD THE MOST POTENT STRAIN AND THE BIGGEST BAGS OF WEED IN THE CITY & NIGGAZ WAS COPPIN MY SHIT AS THEY PURCHASED THAT GRILLA.I PUT MY SHIT IN ALL THE STORES THAT WOULD SELL EM,I DIDNT GIVE A FUCK!CHINESE CLOTHIN STORES, CORNER LIQUOR STORES I DIDNT CARE!GET MONEY?4 MUSIK?SHIT I WAS ALL GOOD,I CUSTOMIZED MIXTAPES 4 NIGGAZ SAMPLIN THEIR NAMES IN EM 50BUKS A POP!THAT WAS LOVE,THEN I HAD THE OPPORTUNITY 2 GET A DISTRIBUTION DEAL WITH BARNEYS RECORDS ON THE WESTSIDE,BUT I NEEDED A TITLE….I LOOKED OUT MY WINDOW AND SAW THE STADIUM WHERE THE CHICAGO WHITE SOX PLAYED AND IT HIT ME!I SELL CDS AND DJ FOR EVERY PROJECT ALONG THE DAN RYAN AND FRUM EVERY BUILDIN WE COULD SEE THE STADIUM.SO I NAMED IT SOX PARK MOB! IT WAS THE FIRST MIXTAPE STAYIN TRU 2 THE STREETS!WHILE OTHER DJS WAS KEEPIN IT STRAIGHT NEW YORK HIPHOP I WAS BREAKIN LOCAL ARTISTS LIKE DO OR DIE’S “NO LOVE”,PSYCHODRAMA’S”MAGIC”,TRIPLE DARNESS,AND CRUCIAL CONFLICT,AS WELL AS TWISTA,THOROUGHBREDS,& BUMP J. I WAS THE FIRST TO PLAY DOWN SOUTH ARTIST LIKE MASTER P,LIL WAYNE WHEN HE WAS WIT DA HOT BOYZ BEFORE THEY HAD A MAJOR DEAL,I BROKE DAYTON FAMILY,AS WELL AS A HOST OF UPCOMIN ARTISTS FRUM CHICAGO,BARNEYS MAJOR MARKET 4 MY MIXTAPE WAS THE SOUTH,ATLANTA,MISSISPPI,AND TEXAS,AS THE MOVEMENT GREW AND THE FLOODIN OF EVERY OTHER DJ WANTING TO DO MIXTAPES ME AND MY GUYS DECIDED 2 BRING TO YOU A COLLECTIVE OF ORIGINAL MUSIC FRUM ARTISTS IN CHICAGO AND THRU OUT THE MIDWEST”

Also, his classic list of influences: 30s and vogues, box Chevys, high rise project buildings, 22s, big body anything, pissy hallways, fuckin’ on da elevator, bussdowns, da fort, da limelight, southern girls, the Boys & Girls club on 51st and Federal, the circle, Washington Park, the low end, Englewood, Wild 100s, westside, northpole, hoods everywhere ya digg!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sox Park Mob 5 (1995)

  1. FROM THE LOW-END TO THE WILD HUNDREDS @ http://WWW.BARNES&NOBLE.COM

Leave a Reply

