I Was Patient……………… B/W Lunch with Arpebu

First time I heard this, in fact the only time I had heard this track in its entirety before about an hour ago, was after eating grilled cheese and drinking coffee at one of RP’s favorite diners on 39th and Western: a halfway point between our residencies. At this time, I had only met the man once, and said meeting was our little Q&A at Rainbow Beach, an event that left me even more confused about why this feet fighting shit exists rather than enlightened. We talked about music things, past and present, and he kept mentioning some song called Weekend, which he said was his favorite of all time. I had no idea what he was talking about, and when I asked who it was by he looked at me like I was crazy. Eventually I realized it was Class Action’s paean to party time, a track that I sometimes think RP samples in some shape or form on every track he has ever made. On the car ride back to my house, he had this grin on his face as he pressed play on his phone, “check this out”. At first I thought, yeah, I love this. But then the sample began to pitch up and down in these odd steps, totally breaking the rules of standard musical notation, I had to question him, “dude this doesn’t even make sense?!”. The only response I got was Mr Boo’s signature chuckle, sort of his own way of saying “I just fucked you up huh?” Ever since then, this track has remained engraved in my memory, even though I only heard it once through smartphone speakers.

What I’m really trying to say is, thank you RP for starting a Soundcloud account and blessing us with your music. Because of you, Weekend is now one of my favorites as well. Your the man DJ Boo.

This entry was posted in Chicago, Disco, Footwork, House and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Was Patient……………… B/W Lunch with Arpebu

  1. Kavain Wayne says:

    Thanks for the mention in this post..no problem dude I am honored to be a big part of this Footwork movemnent..Dave its not a problem for you anytime you want more of the madness as long as God gives me life I will give the world Kavain Wayne S.Sr.-R.P.Buuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!

  2. anon says:

    weekend is originally by phreek…the class action version is a cover. and it aint about party time. its about cheating on yr man…do yr research

    • davequam says:

      so cheating on your man isn’t party time? Surely still sounds like a party to me, and RP Boo’s classic track PARTY TIME is based off a sample from this version, as well as many of his other tracks. Sorry I’m not a disco expert, dude, you got the wrong blog.

Leave a comment